Serving Milwaukee County Since 1988

A Community That Cares and Grows Together

"I have always looked at Our Space as a ‘university’. When I say university, I mean a place to learn, a place to start fresh. Our Space is a safe place to conquer social skills, confidence, it builds character and makes one fearless when dealing with peers and the world we live in. You begin to grow and have the ability to face adversities in everyday challenges. Since joining Our Space three years ago, the quality of my life has forever changed me." - Dennis, Our Space Member

Who We Are

Our Mission is to empower individuals living with mental illness and substance abuse issues to achieve their full potential by providing recovery-oriented person-centered services and programs in a safe and accepting environment.

Our Space continues to implement efforts of Milwaukee County’s initiatives Milwaukee Co-Occurring Competence Cadre (MC3) and is dedicated to the continuation of future initiatives. Our Space values include encompassing a Trauma-Informed Care, person-centered approach amongst all staff and individuals we serve.

Our Space firmly believes in accountability at all levels. We strive to be an organization of excellence through best practices and integrated service delivery. Achievement is accomplished through collaboration with community partners to break down silos which will provide a crisis intervention system to better serve our clients.

Our goal is to provide an array of services and programs to persons experiencing mental illness, trauma and or substance abuse. We look to maximize consumer involvement, choice, and program development while increasing self-determination in a safe environment. We continually look for best-practices to refine current programs and develop new initiatives. By providing the tools and services needed for the consumers to self-manage mental illness symptoms it will increase personal growth, assist them in the skills needed for independent living, and reduce emergency hospitalization and or incarceration.

A History of success

Nora Hitchcock, Executive Director
nhitchcock@ourspaceinc.org         
(414) 3838-8921 Ext. 7

Staff

Melissa Wisniewski, Executive Assistant     
mwisniewski@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921 Ext. 5

Jennifer Buer, Direct Service Manager     
jbuer@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921 Ext. 6

Sherry Thiemer, Occupational Therapist     
sthiemer@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921 Ext. 2

Ana Ramirez, Bilingual Art Specialist     
aramirez@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921 Ext.3

Lakesha Jones, Marketing & Development Director
ljones@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921

Supportive Housing Coordinators

Michelle Wojcik
Empowerment Village – Lincoln Coordinator
mwojcik@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-4840

Tara Ridley
Empowerment Village – National Coordinator

tridley@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-4650

Tashia Edwards
Farwell Studio Apartment Coordinator 
tedwards@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 312-8006

Mark Ploeckelman
Highland Commons Coordinator
mploeckelman@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 877-5919

Parachute House – Peer Run Respite

Marvin Rankins, Program Manager
mrankin@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 877-5918

Board of Directors

John Dobroski, Attorney
Board President
Lebell, Dobroski, Morgan & Meylink 

Karen Jick, LCSW
Board Secretary
ICF Consultant, Inc.
Senior Lecturer, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

James Locatelli, CPA
Board Treasurer
President, Locatelli and Company

Tina Matic, Attorney
Board Director
Foley & Lardner LLP

Gregory Jurenec, PhD
Board Director
Faculty-Associate Professor, Wisconsin School of Professional Psychology

David Turner, Our Space Member President
Board Director

Latash Hazelwood, Our Space Member Vice-President
Board Director

Otis Winstead, Director – Dryhootch
Board Director

Heddy Keith, M.Ed.
Board Director

Tony Piparo, PhD
Board Director

General Inquiries
Ourspace@ourspaceinc.org
(414) 383-8921

Tour Our Space – No Appointment Necessary
Tours are available M-F, 9 am-2:30 pm – No Appointment Needed
1527 N. National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53204